Everyone knows about eBay, craigslist and Amazon. They’re old news. To me, what makes these websites bland is, well, they sell mass-produced shit. They’re awesome sites to find a bargain, don’t get me wrong, but nothing there is unique (I take it back, craigslist can get pretty, uh, unique). You might find an awesome deal on a “previously loved” (can we just call it used?) item, but that’s about it.

Even though this online store isn’t for my demographic, I think Etsy is one of the coolest sites around.

Their slogan? “Your place to buy and sell all things homemade, vintage and supplies.” (And yes, they use the oxford comma.)

Check out their homepage:

"Your place to buy and sell all things homemade, vintage and supplies."

"Your place to buy and sell all things homemade, vintage and supplies."

Something that I really like about Etsy is that it’s a simple, visually-appealing page. The pink/cyan color scheme is actually pretty popular these days, and I think they did an excellent job of executing it. It’s not overboard or in-your-face, but the page has a clear theme.

The menu going down the side on the left is easy to navigate and figure out, regardless of what you’re looking for. There’s nothing on the homepage that I would want to buy, but I’m sure I can find something cool on the site.

After searching for “bicycle” using the search bar, I came across a few items that I was intrigued by, but one in particular caught my attention.

Yeah, that’s right, it’s a Imagebicycle tote to carry a 6-pack of beer.

Useless? Maybe. Illegal? Probably. But damnit, I want that thing.

It’s made out of 9-ply birch. I’m not sure what that means, but it sounds pretty snazzy to me.

Anyway, check out Etsy next time you have a little time to shop online! And keep your credit card nearby.

