RedditGifts Secret Santa

I get to be santa this year!

There’s a new person to add to my Christmas gift list this year. She likes reading, music, running, coffee, Gilmore Girls, Arrested Development, 90s Cartoons and thrift store shopping. She’s from Portsmouth, Rhode Island, and goes to school as Junior Electrical and Computer Engineering major at Carnegie Mellon University. Oh, and one more thing: I’ve never met her before, nor does she know who I am.

No, I am not stalking this poor woman. She is actually my RedditGifts Secret Santa 2011 match. This year, the online community Reddit is attempting to set an official Guinness World Record for the largest online secret santa game. According to Reddit’s site, RedditGifts Secret Santa had over 17,000 people in over 90 countries participate. They anticipate a much larger crowd this year.

Through a little online investigation (maybe I am guilty of a little Facebook stalking), I was able to find out everything I needed to know to select my match’s gift. There’s no dollar minimum or maximum, so I have spent a lot of time getting to know my match’s online persona so I can find a well-suited (and cheap) gift.  Just based off of this girl’s Reddit username, name and shipping address, I found her Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn accounts, and all the information I could ever ask for about her.  Isn’t it amazing what you can do on the web?

We don’t have to ship our gifts until December 12, but some people have already received theirs. My Secret Santa match may just be getting a pair of wool socks, but some people have gotten some truly awesome gifts. For example:

RedditGifts - Cruise

"He got me a cruise!"

“Wow. My Secret Santa is awesome!!!!!!!!!! I mentioned that I like new experiences and adventures but never expected such a generous gift! My santa got me a 4 day cruise to the Bahamas(Miami, Bahamas/Freeport, Great Stirrup Cay, Nassau, Miami) on Norwegian Cruise Line. Zr388, is incredible! ” –askyumar

 

There are plenty more examples of awesome Reddit Secret Santa gifts, but you can get jealous on your own time.

